Mahomet-Seymour High School hailed its fall sports athletes November 9.

“It was once again a pleasure to recognize the accomplishments of our fall sports student-athletes,” Athletic Director Matt Hensley said.  “These young men and women began their respective seasons in mid-August, and their efforts produced multiple team victories, individual all-state recognition and an IHSA state championship.

“We especially recognize our senior student-athletes for their leadership.  They were the driving force behind the seasons’ successes, and we look forward to seeing them as they continue their participation throughout the winter and spring seasons.”

Varsity letter winners in football included seniors Taylor Brady, Colton Cresap, Colton Fender, Travis Hill, Joel McClughen, Zach McClughen, Brandon McDaniel, Quentin McNew, Matt Moxley, Kyle Ogle, Jake Patterson, Jordan Roberts, Randon Robinson, Alex Smith and Jake Wallace.

Juniors included Austin Armetta, Derek Bunch, Kurtis Clapper, Chase Diedrich, Kyle Dollahon, Jacob Ekhoff, Marshall Graham, Bryce Haney, Brad Izatt, Zak Kaesberg, Clay Kibler, Tyler Mason, Cale McCormick, Ryan Pavesic, Drew Pfiester, Garrett Risley, Micah Rounds, Lucas Roush, Matthew Schaap, Shane Sears and Thomas Wolgemuth.

Sophomores included Connor Hillard, Jonathan Reed, Jordan Rock and Andrew Roney.

Hill was honored with the Adam Abdel-Haq Bulldog award.  Ogle was recognized for his sportsmanship.

On the volleyball court varsity letter winners included seniors Molly Cockerham, Kristy Gifford, Logan Moore and Baylee O’Donnell; juniors Emma Cabutti, Alyssa Drollinger, Mackenzie Hartman, Abbie Magrini, Nicole Meyer and Abby Starwalt; and sophomores Kristen Belyea, Hannah Charter and Elise Dahlke.

O’Donnell was honored with the Bulldog award, which she shared last season.  Cockerham was recognized for her sportsmanship.

“Baylee is truly deserving of the Bulldog award,” Coach Lori Clark said.  “She is a talented team player and has a great attitude on the court and in the classroom.  She holds herself with confidence yet does not play selfish.

“Molly is a hard worker every day, juggles band and volleyball season with no complaints and has a true love for the game.  She was a joy to have on my team the last two years.”

Boys’ soccer varsity letter winners included seniors Eric Dahlke, Brandon Fritz, Andrew Jacob, Gus Pereira, Carlos Reyes, Justin Taylor, Caleb Tonkinson and Ryan Whitney; juniors Matt Boyd, Alex Denby, A.J. Hay, Jaren Hope, Troy Jackson and Jared Neidel.

Sophomores included Jimmy Camacho, Jake Duda, Brennan Kraft, Zach Moore, Tyler Moxley, Trevor Rice, Andrew Shroyer and Mark Thatcher.

Once again, a different player received each of the respective awards:  Fritz Bulldog; Whitney sportsmanship; Tonkinson most valuable offensive; and Jacob most valuable defensive.

“Brandon is a unique person deserving of the award, not only of his talents but of his personality in supporting his teammates,” Coach John Moore said.  “He was pretty much a natural choice.

“Ryan is one of those players who, no matter position, gives his all.  Starting or supporting, he is always there with positive words and 100 percent effort.

“Caleb really created plays and sometimes scored out of limited opportunity.  Andrew’s speed and ability to get into the attack were key in being a stopper.”

Boys’ cross-country varsity letter winners included seniors Evan Forbes and John Prillaman; juniors John Butcher, Eli Johnson, Daniel Lewis and Lucas Prather; sophomores Robert Butler, Jonathan Schaap and Ryne Swenson; and freshmen Kyle Applequist, Chris Carlton, Jeffery Coburn, Curt Kupferschmid, Ethan Russell, Forrest Smoes, Dhairav Vakil and James Williams.  

Prather posted both the Bulldog and most valuable runner awards, the latter for the second straight season.  Last season he also received the Brent Johnson “True Grit” award that went to Johnson this year.

Johnson also was honored with the sportsmanship award, while Lewis received team spirit after being named most improved last year.  Williams assumed the latter mantle for 2010.

Girls’ cross-country varsity letter winners included seniors Brittany Bohn and Brooke Stevens; juniors Nikki Lewis, Ceirra Nevin, Lauren Penrose and Rachel Rodriguez; sophomore Tessa Hanlon; and freshman Allie Melchi.

Bohn was honored with both the Bulldog and most valuable runner awards, the latter for the second straight season.  Rodriguez received the honor to serve as 2011 captain.

Stevens was recognized for her sportsmanship.  And for the second consecutive year, sophomore Nicole Webb was named most improved, along with freshman Abigail Nielsen.

“It should be obvious to all that the kids who finish in the top ten of the conference have worked the hardest to get themselves there,” Coach Bonnie Moxley said of All-Corn Belt Bohn, Hanlon and Rodriguez.  “This is truly the case with Brittany, Tessa, and Rachel.

“Brooke received the sportsmanship award because she always had the team's best interest ahead of her own.  She worked hard and had a special respect for the sport of cross-country all four years.”

Boys’ golf letter winners included seniors Grant Dukeman, Adam Guth, Andrew Lawson, Seth Trolia and Jason Troyer and junior Garrett Cox.  All six collected the Bulldog award.

Trolia sported the lowest average for the third straight season.  Troyer was named most improved, while junior Lyle Burns was honored for his sportsmanship.

Girls’ golf letter winners included senior Amy Brandt; juniors Randal Bernthal, Brooke DeSmith, Danielle Ellis and Charlotte Goss; and sophomores Brook Hildreth and Amber Tabaka.

Goss gained the lowest average again in addition to the Bulldog award.  Brandt was honored for her sportsmanship, while Bernthal was named most improved.

“Charlotte was certainly very deserving of both awards,” Coach Matt Mills said.  “She has shown a tremendous amount of dedication and hard work during the summer and all season.  Her consistent play was key to the team’s success this season.

“Amy has been a key part of the team throughout her high school career.  Randal improved her season average from last year by over five strokes.  Her solid play and improvement was key to the team’s success too.”

Cheer varsity letter winners included seniors Emily Beavers, Tara Hill, Danielle Sjoken, Julianne Wallace, Rachel Williamson and Claire Young.

Juniors included Sarah Brown, Allison Earle, Jenna Ferguson, Savannah Klein and Samantha Schroeder.  Sophomores included Meghan Campbell, Kylie Christensen, Alex Harris and Emily Williams.

And freshmen included Morgan DeHaan, Hayley Emerick, Audrey Lowry, Courtney Noe and Cassidy Roderick.

Hill was honored with the Bulldog award, Sjoken and Williamson for their sportsmanship and Noe most improved.

“We also must appreciate the efforts of our coaches and their role as educators outside of the traditional classroom setting,” Hensley continued, “as well as the parents of the young people who participate in our programs for their part in our success.”